Cracking It Open

Image

I found that the iFixit XBox One tear down wasn’t as thorough as others I have read in the past.  Maybe because this one voids the warranty, or maybe because they assume you know what you are doing.

Here’s something they didn’t really explain.  Use the metal prying tool that’s about 1/4″ thick, and start from the clip under the plastic cover they show you how to remove, and slowly and carefully pry loose going around clock-wise, around the back, to the other side and then down the lower edge of the front.  Don’t be afraid when a small plastic panel on the starting side falls out.

Be careful removing the screws, you don’t want to strip them.  Using the iFixit repair kit, I created a fulcrum by combining the screw driver with one of the other thin metal tools, which made it so much easier to remove the screws.

Now that the drive is removed, time to make a copy!

Tags: , , , , ,

About briandwilliams68

My friends call me the biggest geek they know. I have been wired this way since I was a kid, having seen a Timex Sinclair for the first time. I love everything tech-related, from programming to the latest gadgets. I work for Adobe here in San Jose, my focus is on high performance computing, especially as it relates to media processing.

Leave a Reply

